h1

Ho Ho Ho-siery Time!

December 30, 2009

Santa’s late. I really should have saved such a horrible pun for next Christmas! Or for never. The best part about spending years in arctic winter climes–hopping from Wisconsin to Boston, for college– is that I’ve finally acclimated to frost. I pride myself on my (sometimes all-together ridiculous) layering antics and for thus keeping legwear companies in business. I thought I’d share a few of the items on my most-wanted list from the hosiery mecca that is Hansel from Basel. Their tights, leggings, or socks (slash any combination of the three) surely would brighten up any dreary day!

(photos from Hansel from Basel!)

I was especially psyched for stumbling upon the last pair, which appear wonderfully akin (though less brilliant) to Marc by Marc’s F/W ’09 tights:

Hi, purple and orange kneepad tights! I'm rather obsessed with you! Be mine?

(style.com)

How do you battle the oft merciless cold of the North? What keeps your spirits up?

For me it’s sipping endless cups of scalding hot tea, keeping warm in layers with the help of microplush blankets, and watching nonstop movies (most recently Up and (500) Days of Summer–both amaze), catching up on a semester’s worth of magazines (too many), and tackling my “to-read” list (currently Walt Disney: the Triumph of the American Imagination by Neal Gabler, next John Adams by David McCullough), not to mention soaking in the general holiday merriment, reuniting with old friends, etc.

(That was longer than I intended.)

xoxo! Maddy

3 comments

  1. i love everything by hansel from basel, but i can never find any of their stuff in stores! i have a feeling anthropologie might carry them.. i’ll have to check :) great post!!


  2. loven those band socks…way too fun

    bespok.com


  3. okay. so anthropologie has similar socks, but they’re not as good as hansel from basel. i might have to order off their website…

    xx



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

